Staff and Employment

We are proud to employ highly educated and experienced full-time teachers who hold a variety of Gateway Credentials. Many of our teachers have been with us for several years, contributing to the supportive, consistent environment we create for our children.

Interested in joining our team? Information about full-time openings will be posted on the NIU employment portal as they become available.

We also employ NIU students part-time and welcome volunteers in our classrooms.

NIU students interested in working or volunteering at the center should provide us with a completed application form. The best time to apply for work in a certain semester is about a month before that semester begins. Students who are child development or early childhood majors are given priority when we select students to interview for employment. Our other considerations include whether they have work-study funds, the hours they have available to work, and the experience they have caring for young children.

We welcome student employees and volunteers in our classrooms. Our student workers supervise children, provide support to teachers and help maintain classroom routines. They benefit from ongoing training, guidance from skilled teachers, networking opportunities and access to children and families, which can be helpful for completing course work. They generally work 10 to 20 hours per week, and their work schedules are developed around their class schedules.

Child Development and Family Center Staff

Ana Barragan
abarragan1@niu.edu

Janene Boyer
jboyer@niu.edu

Nadine Cruz Saubert
ncruzsaubert@niu.edu

Leslie Dolan
ldolan@niu.edu

Kellie Fuss
kfuss@niu.edu

Eisa Garcia
egarcia15@niu.edu

Jen Gohring
jpeckham@niu.edu

Abigail Hanke
ahanke@niu.edu

Kristi Hayward
khayward@niu.edu

Veronica Jackson
vjackson4@niu.edu

Krysten Jones
kjones20@niu.edu

April Kaiser
akaiser@niu.edu

Amy Lofthouse
alofthouse@niu.edu

Giana Lagioia
glagioia3@niu.edu

Hailey Manzano
hmanzano@niu.edu

Sarah Masson
smasson1@niu.edu

Diane Mathison
dmathison@niu.edu

Samantha McKee
smckee@niu.edu

Xena Nelms
xnelms1@niu.edu

Kendra Nenia
kkirkham@niu.edu

Sherie Newman
slnewman@niu.edu

Melissa Perez Romero
mperez@niu.edu

Dahlia Roman
droman1@niu.edu

Hillary Rosher
hrosher@niu.edu

Ecila Scaife
escaife1@niu.edu

Kristin Schulz
kschulz@niu.edu

Bri Wicker
bbrandon1@niu.edu

Denise White
dwhite6@niu.edu

Pam Yockey
pyockey@niu.edu

Contact Us

Child Development and Family Center
Campus Child Care Center Building
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-0125
815-753-8502 (fax)
jboyer@niu.edu

Hours of Operation

Beginning Aug. 23, 2021
Monday-Friday
7:45 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.

Child Development and Family Center Annex
The Annex is currently closed.

 

naeyc logo