Alpha Zeta Chapter of Delta Omega - NIU - College of Health & Human Sciences

Public Health

Alpha Zeta Chapter of Delta Omega

Delta OmegaDelta Omega is the honorary society for graduate studies in public health (M.P.H.). The society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University, School of Public Health. There are currently 59 chapters throughout the United States and Puerto Rico. The Alpha Zeta Chapter has been chartered at NIU since 2000. Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended, not only to recognize merit, but also, to encourage further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work.

Since Delta Omega's establishment in 1924, the meaning and scope of public health has broadened tremendously. While it is still seriously concerned with problems of environmental sanitation and communicable disease control, public health action has come to embrace all aspects of health and disease in populations. These include the planning, organization, and support of health promotion, disease prevention, and medical care. Basic to modern public health are the social sciences as well as the natural sciences—both in the United States and internationally. Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the field of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Learn more at Delta Omega's website.


The Alpha Zeta Chapter of Delta Omega elects new members each year from four groups:

  1. Students who are candidates for a graduate degree in public health.
  2. Faculty members at the school of public health.
  3. Alumni actively engaged in public health work.
  4. Honorary members possessing exceptional qualifications.

No more than ten percent of the graduating students can be elected to membership in a calendar year. Each must be in the upper twenty-five percent in class standing. Student candidates must have demonstrated qualities of leadership in public health in addition to academic excellence and must intend to follow a career in public health.

Eligible faculty members shall be full-time faculty selected for outstanding public health performance in scholarship, teaching, and research. No more than three percent of the faculty can be elected to membership in a calendar year.

The chapter has the privilege each year of electing to membership a maximum of ten graduates of the program whose work in the practice of public health serves as a model for future graduates.

Honorary membership to Delta Omega is conferred upon persons possessing exceptional qualifications, and who have attained meritorious national or international distinction in the field of public health. The Alpha Zeta chapter is able to confer Delta Omega membership to three honorary members each calendar year.